Mortemer Abbey - 27440 LISORS

From October 31st to March 1st: opening only by appointment

Phone: 02 32 49 54 34

From October 31st to March 1st: opening only by appointment
Fly fishing in the Abbey ponds on reservation
From October 31st to March 1st: opening only by appointment
Fly fishing in the Abbey ponds on reservation
From October 31st to March 1st: opening only by appointment
Fly fishing in the Abbey ponds on reservation

Ticketing

Book your tickets from now to see the shows of 2018 !

Bookings

Bookings

October timetable

From October 1st, the Abbey opens its doors on weekends from 1.30pm to 6pm.

Read more

Ghost Nights were a hit on the first night!

To attend one of the five performances of the 13th Ghost Nights, don't delay to reserve your seats: the first evening was a huge success!

More informations

all the news

The Mortemer Abbey History

Mortemer Abbey viewSettled in the beech of the heart of Lyons forest, its ruins still lie in a bucolic setting that invites an almost mystical walk as these places are full of History.

Built in 1134 from a request of Henry the first Beauclerc, first Duke of Normandy, King of England and fourth son of William the Conqueror, it takes its name from the Latin "Mortum-mare" which means "Dead-Sea" because the vast swamp that flooded the region at this area. Since its foundation in the 12th century, the Abbey is shared between several worlds. The water, of course, the earth from which it draws its substance, the forest that reveals its splendor, and finally the sky, to which it is dedicated. The location was chosen for its calm, conducive to peace and prayer. Affiliated to the Cistercian order (it was the first time in Normandy), she lived in complete autarky thanks to the pigeons from the dovecote, lamprey, perch and tench fish ponds, wine and honey produced by friars.

Its influence and its role in the region is undeniable. From the church of the 12th century, it remains today only a few sections: the support of the north transept and its rose, the pantry and a piece of yard.

In the 18th century, the Abbey suffered a mind and soul languor that made it gradually lose its substance and its mainspring. In 1790, it remained only five friars. During the French Revolution, the last four monks were hunted down and killed in the cellar.


In the center of the property, you can visit the current building which was built in the late 18th century and which houses a museum. Our guide will accompany you in the basement of the Abbey where you can see the Tools, the bread oven, a monastic cell, without forgetting the small fountain, misappropriation of the famous Sainte Catherine fountain so important to young girls who want to find a husband in the year ...

the Mortemer Abbey dovecoteSeveral rooms have been developed. Using an ingenious system of "sound and light" for staging the many stories related to the Abbey and to the region, you will let yourself drawn into a world of legends that will delight younger as older people ...

Leaving the museum, do not forget to admire the 18th century dovecote with a noticeable chestnut wood structural. It used to feed the many visitors who were formerly received in Mortemer. Abbot led the Abbey but was also justice of the peace. He administered justice for petty theft. Accordingly, he had the strip justice which is still visible nowadays (protruding stones and making the rounds of the pigeonhole). Once the award was made, the prisoner was locked inside to serve his sentence there.


In the bottom of the park, finish your tour strolling along ponds where many birds breed freely, unless you prefer to enjoy the rustic little train that runs along the lake.


So imagine, in the heart of the forest of Lyons, far from any dwelling, nestled in a valley through which flows the source Fouillebroc, the ruins of an Abbey ... Mortemer, kingdom of God on earth, but also kingdom of Satan if we believe the many legends about it.


Practical information
Mortemer Abbey
27440 Lisors (near to Lyons-la-Forêt)
Phone : 02 32 49 54 34 - 02 32 49 54 37
mortemer@orange.fr

Mortemer Abbey - 27440 LISORS

From October 31st to March 1st: opening only by appointment

Phone: 02 32 49 54 34

Abbaye de Mortemer - 27440 LISORS

Fermée

Tel: 02 32 49 54 34

Fermée
Pêche à la mouche dans les étangs de l'Abbaye sur réservation
Fermée
Pêche à la mouche dans les étangs de l'Abbaye sur réservation
Fermée

Billetterie

Réservez vos places en ligne pour les spectacles de la saison culturelle 2017 !

Réservations

Actualités

Horaires de Décembre

A partir du 27 Novembre, l'Abbaye de Mortemer sera fermée.

Lire la suite

Changements d'horaires

Dès le 1er Septembre, l'Abbaye de Mortemer vous accueillera tous les jours de 13h30 à 18h !

Lire la suite

Toute l'actualité



Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour vous tenir au courant de toutes nos actualités



L'histoire de l'Abbaye de Mortemer

Vue aerienne de l'Abbaye de MortemerSituée dans une hêtraie au coeur de la forêt de Lyons, ses ruines s'élèvent dans un cadre bucolique qui invite à une promenade presque mystique tant ces lieux sont chargés d'histoire.

Construite en 1134 à la demande d'Henri 1er Beauclerc, premier Duc de Normandie, Roi d'Angleterre et quatrième fils de Guillaume le Conquérant, elle tire son nom du latin " Mortum-mare " qui signifie " Mer-morte ", en raison de l'immense marécage qui inondait la région jadis. Dès sa fondation au 12ème siècle, l'Abbaye est partagée entre plusieurs mondes. L'eau bien sûr, la terre dont elle tire sa substance, la forêt qui l'enserre de sa splendeur, et enfin le ciel, auquel elle est dédiée. Le lieu fût choisi pour son calme propice au repos et à la prière. Affiliée à l'ordre Cistercien (elle fût la première en date en Normandie), elle vivait en complète autarcie grâce aux pigeons du colombier, aux lamproies, perches et tanches des viviers, au vin et au miel produit par les moines. 

Son influence et son rôle dans la région sont incontestables. Il ne reste aujourd'hui de l'église du 12ème siècle, que quelques pans. Le support du transept nord et sa rosace, le cellier et un morceau de préau.

Au 18ème siècle, l'Abbaye souffrit d'une langueur de l'esprit et de l'âme qui, petit à petit lui fit perdre de sa substance et de sa raison d'être. En 1790, il ne subsistait plus que cinq moines. Sous la Révolution, les quatre derniers furent pourchassés et massacrés dans le cellier.

Au centre de la propriété, vous pourrez visiter l'actuelle bâtisse qui fut construite à la fin du 18ème siècle et qui abrite un musée. Grâce à un système audiovisuel, vous passerez en revue les scènes de la vie des moines. Notre guide vous accompagnera dans les sous sols de l'Abbaye où vous pourrez voir les outils, le four à pain, une cellule monacale, sans oublier la petite fontaine, détournement de la célèbre fontaine Sainte Catherine si chère aux jeunes filles désireuses de trouver un mari dans l'année...

Colombier de l'Abbaye de MortemerPlusieurs pièces ont été aménagées. A l'aide d'un ingénieux système " son et lumière " permettant de mettre en scène les nombreux contes liés à l'Abbaye et à la région, vous vous laisserez entraîner dans un univers de légendes qui ravira petits et grands...

En sortant du musée, ne manquez pas d'admirer le pigeonnier du 18ème siècle à la remarquable charpente en bois de châtaignier. Il servait à nourrir les nombreux visiteurs qui étaient reçus autrefois à Mortemer. Le Père Abbé dirigeait l'Abbaye mais était également juge de paix. Il rendait la justice pour des petits larcins. En conséquence, il eut droit au bandeau de justice qui est encore visible aujourd'hui (pierres ressortant et qui font le tour du pigeonnier). La sentence rendue, le prisonnier était enfermé à l'intérieur pour y accomplir sa peine.

Dans le fond du parc, terminez votre visite en flânant le long des étangs ou de nombreux oiseaux se reproduisent en liberté, à moins que vous ne préfériez profiter du petit train rustique qui longe la pièce d'eau.

Imaginez ainsi, au coeur de la forêt de Lyons, à l'écart de toute habitation, nichée dans un vallon où coule la source Fouillebroc, les ruines d'une Abbaye... Mortemer, royaume de Dieu sur terre, mais également de Satan si l'on en croit les multiples légendes qui courent à son sujet.
 


Renseignements pratiques

Abbaye de Mortemer
27440 Lisors (près de Lyons-la-Forêt)
Tél : 02 32 49 54 34 - 02 32 49 54 37
mortemer@orange.fr

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour vous tenir au courant de toutes nos actualités




Abbaye de Mortemer - 27440 LISORS

Fermée

Tel: 02 32 49 54 34